National Photography Prize 2022

When: 26 February - 5 June 2022

Where: ANZ Zauner Foyer & Paul Ramsay Galleries

The National Photography Prize brings together twelve artists from across Australia who are challenging and extending photographic language and techniques. The Prize is open to artists working across all areas of the photographic field, offering an opportunity to consider the vital role of photography in contemporary art in Australia.

Providing a forum for artists working with photography, the Prize presents cohesive selections of works or works in series, offering a depth of critical reflection that recognises the complexities and nuances of the history of photography and its contemporary manifestation.

The artists selected for the 2022 finalist exhibition represent a breadth of Australian photographic practice. Their concerns encompass First Nations relationships to Country and storytelling, artists’ personal histories, families, communities and languages, environmental and climate action, the history of photography and agitations for the medium’s future.

The National Photography Prize 2022 forms part of PHOTO 2022, international festival of photography, activating sites across Melbourne and Regional Victoria, including Albury—Wodonga, with the most inspiring photography from Australia and around the world.

Inaugurated in 1983, the National Photography Prize has been held biennially at Murray Art Museum Albury. It is Australia’s longest running acquisitive photographic award, with the 2022 iteration representing its 16th presentation.

Exhibiting artists: Amos Gebhardt, Caitlin E. Littlewood, Dean Cross, Dennis Golding, Guy Grabowsky, Janet Laurence, Kate Mitchell, Kiron Robinson, Luke Parker, Robert Fielding Sara Oscar, Tiyan Baker